Audi Pretty Polly Stakes

1993: General view of the Pretty Polly Stakes at the Curragh, in Ireland Allsport UK/AllsportThe Pretty Polly Stakes is a flat race for three-year-old and above thoroughbred fillies, run over one mile, two furlongs. It acquired Group 1 status in 2004.

The Audi Pretty Polly Stakes will be raced on Saturday 26 June – the second day of the Irish Derby Festival at the Curragh.

The Pretty Polly Stakes is named after the filly Pretty Polly, who won the British Fillies’ Triple Crown in 1904. The outcome of this race is generally a good clue as to which horse will come out tops in the Irish Oaks, which is run – also at the Curragh – in July.

Pretty Polly Stakes Winners in the 2000s







2000 Lady Upstage Michael Hills Barry Hills Mrs E. Robert 2:07.7
2001 Rebelline Declan McDonogh Kevin Prendergast Lady O’Reilly 2:08.6
2002 Tarfshi Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis Ahmed Al Maktoum 2:04.6
2003 Hanami Christophe Soumillon James Toller G. B. Partnership 2:05.3
2004 Chorist Darryll Holland William Haggas Cheveley Park Stud 2:02.8
2005 Alexander Goldrun Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Miriam O’Callaghan 2:05.7
2006 Alexander Goldrun Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Miriam O’Callaghan 2:04.8
2007 Peeping Fawn Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Michael Tabor 2:10.6
2008 Promising Lead Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Khalid Abdullah 2:06.8

The 2008 Audi Pretty Polly Stakes went to Sir Michael Stoute’s  Promising Lead, who was ridden by top jockey Ryan Moore.

Mad About You chased the Promising Lead right through to the end, but had to settle for second position.  Ana Pavlova held third place for most of the race, slipped back to fourth  before finally finishing in third place. Aidan O’Briens Ice Queen and Sail took 6th and 7th place respectively.

Who do you think will win the Audi Pretty Polly Stakes at this year’s Irish Derby Festival?